The File Manager’s Live Editing functionality is available across all File Libraries, and accessible to all users who have:
- ‘Edit’ or higher permissions to the relevant Library;
- a valid Microsoft Office licence for the appropriate application; and
- the appropriate Microsoft application installed on their device.
When used, Activ will open an editable copy of the chosen file on your device, and create a virtual draft within your system that will automatically update each time you save your work. In addition, Activ will lock the parent file within your system, effectively Checking it Out for editing, and *preventing other users from uploading a new copy or beginning their own Live Edit on the file whilst you are working on your draft.
*Note that System Administrators will be able to unlock the file and upload a new version if required, but are advised to avoid doing so unless absolutely necessary. Admins will also be able to manage another user’s Checkouts if required, and can review, discard, and Check-In (i.e. Publish) the draft if needed (see Admins: Manage Another User’s Live Editing Checkouts).
*****
To open a file for Live Editing, open the File Manager module and navigate to the appropriate Library (e.g. Controlled Documents). All files within the Library will be organised alphanumerically, with those prefixed by a number displayed at the top of the list. Locate the appropriate file in the file structure, and click on the hamburger icon displayed to the left of the file’s name.
This will open a menu containing a list of key actions relating to the file’s management. Click on Edit (note that this option will only be available if the file is a Microsoft Office file, and Office Integration is enabled for your system).
Activ will briefly display a loading popup, and then will either:
- prompt you to give Activ permission to open the corresponding Microsoft Application, if you have never opened files of that type (or have cleared your cache since you did so);
- automatically attempt to open the file without any further prompting, if you have previously Live Edited (or Previewed) a file of that type; or
- advise you that the file cannot be opened and that you will need to download it instead, if you do not have the appropriate application installed on your device, have denied Activ permission to open the corresponding MS application, or have blocked connections of this kind.
If the appropriate application is installed on your device, and you provide Activ with permission to open it, then the file will be opened and you will be able to view its contents. Depending on your device settings, the file may be opened in either:
- protected view, if you have not recently opened/Live Edited the file on your device, and Activ is not listed in your device’s trusted sites; or
- the normal MS view, if Activ is listed in your device’s trusted sites, or you have recently opened/Live Edited the file on your device.
If the file has been opened in Protected View, then you will be presented with a yellow banner along the top of the screen that will contain MS’ standard security warning about downloaded files, and the file will be presented to you in ‘read only’ mode. Click on the Enable Editing button within the banner to enable editing.
Note that you can prevent files from opening in Protected View, allowing you to skip this step, if you add Activ to your device’s Trusted Sites. If you choose not to add Activ to your Trusted Sites, your device will default to opening Activ files in Protected View. You can find guidance on adding Activ to your Trusted Sites within this help article.
Once you have clicked on Enable Editing (or added Activ to your Trusted Sites), the file will be unlocked for editing and Activ will automatically lock the parent file within your Activ system to prevent other users from Live Editing the file or uploading a new version. At this point, the file will be checked out, and will be marked as Locked within your Register to help prevent someone else from starting their own Live Edit whilst you have the file open. If you choose to close the file without saving any changes, then this check-out will automatically be cancelled and the corresponding lock removed to enable other users to manage the file.
Once editing has been enabled for the file, you will be able to update its contents as you would any normal Microsoft Office file. In addition, a new virtual draft of the file will be created within your system upon your first save of the file, the file will be marked as Checked Out within your Register, and any further changes made will be pushed through to the draft upon subsequent saves. Note that your changes will only be stored within Activ when the file is saved, and that each save must be done manually: Activ cannot save the file automatically on your behalf, and will not store changes if you close the file without saving your work. As such, we strongly recommend that you save regularly to minimise any potential data loss that may occur if the file is closed unexpectedly (e.g. because your device loses power or the Microsoft application experiences an error).


